Skip to main content

The content of this website has been moved to, the state administration's main website published on 1 July 2019.
For more recent information visit



The free movement of persons is, one of the four fundamental rights of the EU internal market (in addition to the free movement of goods, capital and services) and an underlying principle of the Rome Treaty of 1957, which saw a gradual implementation.


The principle of free movement of persons deals with a reduction of administrative burdens to enable the citizens of EU member states and their family members, regardless of their citizenship, to move freely between member states to live, work, study or retire in another country.


In order to protect their domestic labour markets, most of the EU-15 Member States enforced a transitional period for the free movement of workers from EU-8 Member States (eight of the ten countries which joined the EU on 1 May 2004, including Slovenia). During the transitional period, workers from EU-8 Member States needed to obtain work permits to work in the ‘old’ Member States. The length of the transitional period differed among member states but, since 1 May 2011 the citizens of all member states joining the EU in 2004 have been enjoying equal treatment in the markets of these states as the country nationals. The free movement of workers principle applies to the EU and EEA countries (Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland) and the Swiss Confederation.


In addition to employment and self-employment, the principle of free movement also covers provision of services. For example, a company established in Slovenia can provide services in the above listed countries without obtaining work permits for the workers it employs, regardless of their citizenship. The procedures which a Slovenian employer providing services in EU Member States needs to follow before the commencement of services again differ on a country basis. For easier operation, each country has a contact authority and reference points where companies,  also Slovenian, can acquire all the relevant information.
List of contact authorities (reference points):


Old EU Member States and

EEA Member Countries

New member states


In accordance with the above, the Republic of Slovenia allows free access to its labour market for citizens of the EU and EEA Member States and the Swiss Confederation, and for their family members, regardless of their citizenship, which means that these persons can work, as employed or self-employed, without a work permit. An employer established in one of the above listed countries can provide services in the Republic of Slovenia without obtaining work permits for workers who have been employed with this employer for a minimum of one month, regardless of their citizenship. In this case, the employer is obliged to register the commencement of providing services with the Employment Service of Slovenia before the commencement of the work, and shall provide the workers posted to work in Slovenia with the rights as specified in the Employment Relationships Act throughout the performance of the service.


More information:
Employment Service of Slovenia
Rožna dolina, cesta IX/6, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
e-mail: eures(at)



Coordination of social security systems


Coordination of social security systems is one of the fundamental instruments to ensure the rights of workers who have, in the course of their economically active lives, held employment in at least two different countries. This instrument ensures that a worker who has lived in a country for a certain period of time, left it, and moved to another country, retains his/her social security entitlements.


The official legal basis for safeguarding these rights between EU Member States is the Regulation (EC) No. 883/2004 and its implementation procedures as set out in Regulation (EC) 987/2009. These two Regulations shall not apply as yet to the EEA Member Countries and Switzerland, which are still subject to the old Regulations Nos 1408/71 and 574/72.


The coordination of social security systems with non-EU members is laid down in bilateral Social Security Agreements, which Slovenia has signed or inherited. In principle, these Agreements regulate:

  • the rights arising from the pension and health insurance,
  • maternity,
  • life insurance,
  • family benefits, and
  • unemployment insurance.

The content of the Agreements depends on how certain issues are regulated in the national systems.


More information:

Ministrstvo za delo, družino in socialne zadeve
International cooperation and EU affairs Service
Kotnikova 5, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia
contact person: Jana Lovšin, head of service
phone: + 386 1 369 76 00
fax: + 386 1 369 76 67
e-mail: jana.lovsin(at)